Can I Be Compensated After a Florida Hit-and-Run Accident?Orlando Legal News
If you are involved in a Florida car accident, it is important to know that it is illegal to flee the scene. If you do flee, this will be considered a hit-and-run accident. The illegality of hit-and-run accidents extends to minor and major crashes, collisions with pedestrians, and hitting and damaging property other than cars. When you are involved in a crash, the following must be done:
- Exchange insurance, contact, and vehicle registration information
- Exchange name and address
- Exchange driver’s license information
- Provide aid if you are able, and if not at least call 911 for assistance
In situations where you hit an object and no one else is at the scene of the crash, you still have an obligation to the owner of that property. You will need to file a report with the police or leave a message for the owner that has all of your information so they can connect with you and coordinate the repairs.
What Happens When a Driver Flees a Florida Accident Scene?
A hit-and-run driver in Florida may face significant criminal consequences for their reckless behavior. When there is only property damage that results from a hit-and-run and no one is injured, under Florida hit-and-run laws, this action is a second-degree misdemeanor. What comes with a Florida second-degree misdemeanor is not only a $500 fine but also as long as 60 days in jail.
Should you leave the scene of an accident where there were injuries the penalties become more severe. When injuries occur after a Florida hit-and-run, the act is considered a third-degree felony. This charge comes with up to five years behind bars and a pricey $5,000 fine. Additionally, you will have your license revoked.
Florida takes hit-and-run accidents very seriously. When there are major injuries from one of these incidents, the charges jump to a second-degree felony that involves a $10,000 fine, up to 15 years in jail, and loss of driver’s license. When death takes place, Florida will charge you with a first-degree felony. First-degree felonies include up to 30 years in prison, a $10,000 fine, and a loss of your driver’s license.
Speak with a Florida Personal Injury Attorney Today
After you have been in a hit-and-run and you are injured you may be wondering how to cover the costs of your medical treatment. Due to Florida’s no-fault car insurance rules, it doesn’t matter who causes an accident. After an accident, you will go to your own insurance to help you cover the costs. All drivers in Florida must carry personal injury protection. This will help with medical and other expenses that came about because of your accident. The minimum that you must carry is $10,000, and with the high cost of medical care these days, that amount is fairly low.
The Florida personal injury attorneys at Vaughan Law Group understand the ins and outs of how to help victims obtain the maximum amount of compensation after their accidents. Your Orlando car accident attorney will review your accident experience to determine if it is possible to negotiate a larger settlement for you. Call the Orlando serious injury attorneys at Vaughan Law Group today at (407) 648-1426 to schedule your free consultation.