What are the Car Insurance Guidelines In Florida?Orlando Legal News
Every state across the United States requires that drivers have car insurance in order to lawfully drive on the road. One simply cannot purchase an automobile without having active insurance on-hand. It isn’t just enough to be an active policy owner, prospective drivers must prove that they indeed do have insurance. Your policy’s identification card, a copy of your policy, or a certificate of self-insurance are all appropriate forms of documentation that prove you are covered.
The aftermath of a Florida car accident can be extremely expensive. Moderate to severe crashes can come with costs that can quickly add up to $100,000 or more in damages. If you were the victim of a Florida car accident, obtaining experienced legal representation is critically important to your ability to recover money to cover your costs. In 2018 alone there were over 400,000 automobile crashes which resulted in 3,135 deaths and 236,157 injuries. The Orlando automobile accident attorneys at the Vaughan Law Group utilize a plethora of professionals to build strong personal injury cases including investigators, accountants, economists, physicians, biomechanics, human factor experts, and many other forensic experts.
What are the Car Insurance Requirements in Florida?
All vehicles that are registered in the state of Florida must have PIP (Personal Injury Protection) and PDL (Property Damage Liability) insurance. They must have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP and at least $10,000 in PDL. Taxis are required to carry higher minimums. These motorists must have BIL (Bodily Injury Liability) coverage of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per occurrence, and $50,000 in PDL coverage.
All vehicles must have active insurance coverage even if they are not being used regularly or if they are inoperable. Also, it doesn’t matter where your vehicle is located, if it is registered in Florida it requires active and continuous insurance coverage. The only carve-out is for military personnel who are serving out-of-state or the country. These individuals may be exempt from this provision.
If you have a car that you cannot drive and do not want to continue to pay insurance premiums on, then it is expected that you give up the car’s license plates and tags before you cancel your coverage to avoid penalties. Cars registered in Florida must have insurance through a licensed carrier that is permitted to do business in the state. Those moving to Florida from another state should have their insurance transferred to an approved Florida policy.
Not having Florida car insurance isn’t just against the law, it also is very unwise. If you do not have insurance in Florida and you are pulled over by an officer for a moving violation if an officer asks for it when they arrive at an accident scene or have a car in any capacity that you have not surrendered your plates and tags you may face penalties. You could have your license suspended, your registration suspended, and also be served a fine up to $500.
Where Can You Find a Florida Personal Injury Attorney?
Call the Orlando serious injury attorneys at the Vaughan Law Group today at (407) 648-1426 to schedule your completely free, no-obligation consultation. Our Florida personal injury attorneys will ensure your legal rights are protected.