When Is a Car Accident Report Necessary?Orlando Legal News
In the state of Florida, the law requires that some motor vehicle accidents be reported to the police. It is common for a victim of a car accident to be unsure about what to do in the aftermath of a crash. The first thing to do after a crash is to check on everyone involved and see if anyone needs medical attention. Once you have established the health status of each party, then a victim should call 9-1-1 to get an officer to the scene and emergency medical responders should they be necessary.
After law enforcement and medical aid have been called for, a victim should take pictures of the damage and the crash site if they can. Victims should also speak with any witnesses and ask them if they would be willing to provide testimony or a statement and if so, collect their information. These are just a couple of the necessary actions to take if you have been in an automobile accident in Orlando, Florida.
When Does A Victim Have to File a Florida Car Accident Report?
There are specific instances where Florida’s car accident laws say that victims have only 10 days to submit a Long Form accident report after a qualified investigation of the crash has been done. If a car accident results in any of the following, a Long Form accident report is necessary:
- There are one or more injuries.
- There are one or more fatalities.
- The crash was the result of a DUI.
- The incident was a hit and run.
- One or more of the vehicles is so badly damaged that it must be moved by a wrecker.
- The collision involved a commercial motor vehicle.
- The damages that resulted from the crash will cost at least $500.
Most of the time after a crash, specifically one where injuries or death result, the police are called. When the police come out to the crash site, they will inspect the scene and file the report. Even though the majority of the time law enforcement is called by at least one party, sometimes they are not called out. When this happens, it is important that victims get the accident reported. To do this, you can do any of the following:
- Call the local police department and tell them you must file a Long Form accident report.
- Go online to your local police department’s website to file your report.
- You can complete the Long Form Florida accident report by hand and mail it to your local police department.
Even if your crash seems minor, it still may be necessary to report it. It is always a good idea to call the police after any crash. There are a couple of reasons for this. First, if you were injured you can get the immediate medical attention you need. Second, police coming to the scene will document your harm in their report. Then when you file your Florida personal injury claim, you will have documentation that your injuries were a result of your car accident.
Meet with an Orlando Car Accident Attorney Today
It is okay if you are not sure about how to file a personal injury claim in Florida or how to take legal action to get the compensation you need after your injury accident. Call the experienced Orlando car accident attorneys at the Vaughan Law Group to schedule a free consultation at (407) 648-1426. The knowledgeable attorneys at the Vaughan Law Group can answer all of your questions and help you with your claim.