When Should You Report Your Workplace Injury in Florida?Orlando Legal News
Most employers in Florida are required to have workers’ compensation insurance. This is documented under Florida’s workers’ compensation laws. Very small businesses, those that have four employees and fewer do not have to carry workers’ compensation coverage. Once there are at least five employees though, workers’ comp coverage is required by the state.
Workers’ compensation insurance is a way that employers can protect themselves from civil lawsuits when a workplace injury happens to one of their employees. It is also a benefit for workers so that when an injury accident takes place, medical treatment can be covered. Considering the high cost of medical care, being able to get those costs taken care of is a big deal.
If you were injured while at work or while you were in the process of doing your job in Orlando, Florida, then you are likely eligible to file a Florida workers’ compensation claim. It is not uncommon for an employer or their insurance provider to be hostile to new claimants and make the process difficult. It is always recommended that after an injury accident, medical treatment should be sought. Then, speaking with an Orlando workers’ compensation lawyer is beneficial.
How Long Do You Have to Report Your Workplace Injuries in Florida?
It is advised to report your workplace accident to your employer as soon as you can. Even though you have two years from the date of your accident to file your workers’ compensation claim, you only have 30 days to report your accident.
Failure to properly report your accident in a timely manner puts your ability to recover the most compensation in jeopardy. Your employer or the insurance adjuster will use your delay in reporting your workplace injuries as a reason to question:
- The existence of your injuries.
- The severity of your injuries.
- If you even were injured at work at all or in the course of doing your job.
So after a workplace injury accident, inform your employer within 30 days. However, the sooner you can do this the better it will be for your claim. If you suffered emergency damages that need immediate medical interventions, you can go to the nearest provider. If you aren’t a victim of an emergency situation, you will need to go to an approved provider that your employer should be able to supply you with.
The problem that occurs when you go to a medical professional that is not approved is that you may not be able to have the cost of that care covered by workers’ compensation insurance benefits.
Navigating the Florida workers’ compensation system can be difficult and confusing especially when you are hurt. Making the right decisions at the right time is essential to the strength of your claim. The Orlando injury attorneys at the Vaughan Law Group can help you with your workers’ compensation claim.
Speak with an Orlando Workers’ Compensation Attorney Today
When a workplace accident happens and injuries result, workers have rights and deserve to get the most from their workers’ comp claim. The Orlando work accident injury attorneys at the Vaughan Law Group can protect you from being treated unfairly by your employer or their workers’ compensation insurance provider. Call the Vaughan Law Group today to schedule a free consultation at (407) 648-1426.